PiS Project is going back to Committee!

On the 10th of January 2014, Polish parliament voted on rejecting a draft that changes the Building Code Act and the Spatial Planning and Land Development Act.

This draft establishes a 3 km minimum distance between wind turbin and human settlements and includes all wind installations built before the act goes into effect, with a  mandatory deadline to adapt to the rules set on the 31st of December 2017.

The vote brought a heated debate among parliamentary members, especially PiS deputies who called for further work on the project. Invoking once again the opinion of the Ministry of Health regarding the dangers to human health and life of installing wind turbines, as well as falling land prices in municipal districts with wind turbines.

The Secretary of State Stanisław Gawłowski opposed the bill. He rebutted allegations about the lack of environmental impact assessments for wind energy installations and confirmed. He stated that mandatory distance of these facilities from human settlements eliminates the possibility of this type of installation being built in some parts of the country. The Secretary of State called for European Union law and our climate commitments to be respected.

Prime Minister Donald Tusk opposed the rejection of the draft. He confirmed his negative attitude towards wind energy. The Prime Minister affirmed that the extension of work on the Renewable Energy Sources Act will protect the Polish energy market from energy installations such as wind turbines.

The Prime Minister repeated that renewable energy’s share in the energy sector of the country will only be at the level set  in the  Polish climate and energy goals for 2020.

The energy mix will be free from expensive electricity, wind energy, which we pay for- Donald Tusk said.

During the voting the rejection of the bill of act was supported by PSL and TR deputies, against were PO, PiS and SLD deputies. The result of the voting was a majority rejection.

As a result, the draft was re- directed to the Infrastructure Committee and the Committee on Local Government and Regional Policy.